Thursday, April 28, 2011

Social Networking for Genealogy Societies

The Federation of Genealogical Societies (FGS) is proud to announce its new webinar series by offering a FREE webinar to the public! Entitled Social Networking for Genealogical Societies and presented by FGS board member and nationally-recognized genealogy educator Thomas MacEntee.

Social Networking for Genealogy Societies
Saturday, April 30, 2011
4:00 pm Eastern, 3:00pm Central, 2:00 pm Mountain, 1:00 pm Pacific, 9:00 pm London

Description

While thousands of genealogists and family historians have discovered new ways to expand and improve their genealogy endeavors using social networking, there is a dire need for genealogy societies to understand and begin using these same communication tools. This webinar will give genealogy society leaders and members an overview with real examples of how genealogy societies are successfully leveraging social media websites and applications to attract new members and expand their member services.

If you think Facebook, Twitter and other social media sites are “just for kids” then think again. Most businesses and non-profits are learning how to attract new customers and members merely by having a “presence” on many of these sites. In this webinar you’ll learn about the latest websites and tools available for free and how some genealogy societies are already using them. These same societies are not only attracting new members but they are also effectively marketing their events and services to the genealogy community and beyond.

Presenter

This webinar will be presented by FGS board member and nationally-recognized genealogy educator Thomas MacEntee. MacEntee is a professional genealogist specializing in the use of technology and social media to improve genealogical research and as a means of interacting with others in the family history community.

Register

Visit https://www3.gotomeeting.com/register/401693254 to register. Hurry since space is limited!
Post a Comment