Monday, August 11, 2014

Atomic Energy Commission Awards

The Friends of the National Archives Southeast Region are pleased to sponsor the presentation “Atomic Energy commission Awards” with Shane Bell, Archivist at the National Archives at Atlanta, on Tuesday, August 12,, 2014.

Summary: The Manhattan Project employed well over 100,000 people during WWII.  Many of these individuals worked for contractors performing all manner of duties.  Those who met the minimum service requirements were awarded with 'A' award certificates and lapel pins.  The War Department lists of these contractor employees are held in the custody of The National Archives at Atlanta.  Tune in to learn about our ongoing project to discover and digitize these unique records from the WWII era.

Presenter: Shane holds a bachelor’s degree in history and a Master of Arts in Liberal Studies from Clayton State University.  He worked for NARA as a graduate student employee beginning in 2007 and joined the agency full time in 2011.  Shane has extensive experience with records from NASA, the Atomic Energy Commission, and 19th century federal courts.  He has compiled finding aids for holdings related to The War of 1812, the 19th century illegal slave trade, the Civil War, and 20th century science and technology.  In addition to his archival work he also teaches Modern and Pre-Modern World history at Clayton State.

This presentation will be broadcast live on August 12, 2014:
  • 2:00 pm Eastern
  • 1:00 pm Central
  • 12:00 pm Mountain
  • 11:00 am Pacific

Register for the free Webinar now at:
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/3345684497932153602https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/3345684497932153602


After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the Webinar. You will use your unique URL in your confirmation email to logon to the live broadcast on August 12, 2014.
Post a Comment